10 Day Meme
Day 1 - Ten random facts about yourself
Day 2 - Nine things you do everyday
Day 3 - Eight things that annoy you
Day 4 - Seven fears/phobias
Day 5 - Six songs that you're addicted to
Day 6 - Five things you can't live without
Day 7 - Four memories you won't forget
Day 8 - Three words you can't go a day without
Day 9 - Two things you wish you could do
Day 10 - One person you can trust

1. I am a coffee snob of the varietal type because I can taste the differences. I don't like dark roast, generally, or most South Asian beans. My biggest preference is for medium roast East African and medium-dark Central American, blended in a 3:2 ratio. I drink it with a fair bit of whole milk, and no additional sweeteners. When I do get an espresso drink, it's a whole-milk latte. No, I don't want a fucking cappucino.

2. I like tea more in theory than practice. When I brew coffee, it's done immediately. Tea? I have to come back to it. I think I'll enjoy more tea as my kids get older.

3. I'm recovering from 2-3 decades of strong aversion to the color pink and floral prints in general. Dressing Miri has been therapeutic/cathartic, as has making sure Ty has plenty of pink and purple around to make it non-exclusive.

4. I will probably never warm up to wearing yellow or orange because they generally make me look awful. That doesn't keep it out of Ty's wardrobe, because most shades of both look really good on him. Okay, I can see getting away with some yellow when the hair goes all grey-white, but that's still many years from now.

5. I use my paternal grandmother's old bed step-stool at my desk to keep me from putting too much weight on my feet while I sit (especially while nursing Miri). I had to get speshul shooz for a reason.

6. I'm probably playing WoW less than I otherwise would simply due to the wrist brace I got for my De Quervain's tendosynovitis. It's a lot easier to play RTS/city-builders that are pausable point-and-click rather than live combat rotation stuff.

7. Like many people with messy families--and a lot of bad mental programming from growing up in such a family, I'm finding my thirties to be that time when all that shit starts shaking loose from my head for various reasons. Thus, while there are drawbacks, I'm glad I'm an older mom than average. I needed the extra years.

8. I was reading mostly-female SFF authors way before it was cool. Barbara Hambly, MZB (yes, I know; didn't then), Andre Norton, Katherine Kerr, Anne McCaffrey, Robin McKinley, Patricia McKillip, Kate Elliott, Martha Wells, Connie Willis and Lois McMaster Bujold were all well-represented in my book collection by the early '00s; David introduced me to Tanya Huff, P.C. Hodgell and Nina Kiriki Hoffman in '05. Granted, it was a fairly white, US-centric collection, but I've been continuing to broaden my horizons over the past 10 years.

9. However, my listening tastes have tended towards non-US Anglophone male singers, starting with Depeche Mode and INXS, then progressing to David Bowie, Sisters of Mercy, Peter Murphy/Bauhaus, Nick Cave, etc. Could just be that I'm a straight Anglophone woman. Also, I enjoy minor keys a lot.

10. I find myself watching Dr. Phil sometimes in a mix of horrified fascination and de-bubbling to remind myself what people outside my social circles (online and off) are like.


katyakoshka: (Default)
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags